Follow Us On:

Elsberry R-II honors Elementary School students

Posted on Wednesday, June 12, 2013 at 8:56 am

Presidents Award

To finalize the school year, Toni Wankel, Elementary Principal and Donna Kientzy, Elementary Counselor hosted an assembly for grades kindergarten through fourth to honor some students who had some outstanding accomplishments for the school year.

The first award given out was to the students who had perfect attendance for the entire school year. These five students were not only announced to the crowd but given dollar coins by local banks, Peoples Bank and Trust and Providence Bank. They were Taylor Crenshaw, Carli Donovan, Kaden Kinsler, Kylie Kinsler, and Emma Pflasterer.

Next, each classroom teacher chose a student that they saw as “Most Improved” for the school year. This recognition could be for numerous kinds of improvement in the class. The Elsberry D.O.M. Club sponsors this award. Students were Amanda Bles, Aryanna Eaton, Marissa Lovelace, Ashlyn Javaux, Ane Norton, Alyssa Pechmann, Gauge Masterson, Emily guard, Isaiah Hoevelman, Benjamin Dowell, Joshua Wolanski, Candice Dowell, Riley Schroeder, Raelynn Brazell, Lillian Smith, Harley Hays, Ember Richardson, Amaya Anders, Kennedy Flynn, Madeline Burke, Paige Harper, Maranda Burke, Kennedi Barber, Kaylen Lammert, Kamryn Hufstedler, and Marissa McNelly.

Most Improved

The final award for the assembly was given to just fourth graders; it was called the President’s Award. Students were honored for no grade lower than an A- all year and high achievement on state MAP testing. Each student also received a signed letter from President Barac Obama and a presidential pin. Students were Christopher Hatcher, Liberty Killian, Kaitlin Tapley, Kylie Kinsler, Mara Lammert, Hailie Tobias, Hunter Brandt, Veronica Whiteside, Cain Sadler, Madeline Burke, Macy Barber, Madison Leckbee and Brystal Jones.

For more on this and other stories pick up your copy of The Elsberry Democrat today  from one of our several locations.  You can also sign up for the online edition by visiting and clicking on Subscribe …

Perfect Attendance