Follow Us On:

2013 Elsberry R-II Athletic Banquet

Posted on Thursday, May 16, 2013 at 9:14 am

Krista Dye gives Invocation prior to meal

It was a bitter sweet night for many in Elsberry as the community joined together and celebrated the achievements of several students.

Elsberry Athletic Director Ryan Parker led the ceremony and Krista Dye led the Invocation. Dye was also one of two students who received the MSHAA Sportsmanship Award. Braden Spratt was the other.

Other awards included the Academic All-State Award, which was given to Becca Almus, Tanner Bencomo, Olivia Brown, Madison Cleveland, Brittni Hagemeier, Brea Johnson and Caliee Vitro. Claire O’Brien received the Team Award, while Cleveland got Most Improved. Almus and Hagemier also received Team MVP’s.

Lady Indians JV Basketball also had a good night as Maggie Spratt received the Offense Award and Hannah Arne got the Most Improved award. Brittany King was awarded with the Defense Award. For Lady Indians Varsity, Dye earned the Free Throw Award, Hagemeier received the Rebound Award, Olivia Brown was given the Rebound Award, Bencomo was given the Assist/Steal Award and Kate Boedeker received the Coaches Award, as well as Amanda Jo Talbot.

Although it was their first year as a team, the Lady Indians Soccer Team had a few awards to hand out as well. The Most Improved Player Award went to Lexi Parker, while Bailey Zimmermann was given the Leadership Award.

Ethan Miller, Braden Spratt and Eli Gladney, all earned the Elsberry Cross Country Achievement award. Miller and Spratt also earned their letterman patches.

Passion Hunter-Edwards and Charles Fraction were both given the High Point Award for the Indians Track Team. Hunter-Edwards also made First Team All-Conference as part of the 4×100 Relay Team. Bencomo, Pruitt and Alayna Conrad were the other members. Fraction was First Team in the 400 Meter Dash and First Team in the 4×200 Relay, along with Terrez Blair, Ethan Miller and Addric Deroy.

In Indians Varsity Basketball, Rodney Chatman received the Most Improved Player Award as well as the JV MVP Award. Fraction and Kenny Lesley both received the Team MVP Award for Varsity. According to Parker, the team suffered if either one of them had to sit the bench. Rahiem Porter was named Second Team for All-Conference and East Central District.

Gavin Hill had quite a night as he received the Lowest Scoring Average Award and the Birdie Award. He was also All-Conference and All-District along with Ethan Pott, who also qualified for State with a third place qualifying at Sectionals. Josh Phillips made All-District.

However, Phillips received the ERA Award in Indians Baseball. Zach Rimel earned Rookie of the Year; The Stolen Bases Award went to Dylan Howard and Jay Ogden received the Golden Glove Award. But Indians Head Coach Shannon Wells also handed out the 2012 awards. 2012 Rookie of the Year went to Grant Black, 2012 Golden Glove winner was Scott Kroeger and Kevin Dotson received the 2012 MVP.

In other sports, Spratt was named All-District in Cross Country, as well as Zimmermann, who also was named All-Conference. Maggie Spratt and Naomi Gladney received the same honors. Miller and Anne Marie Bufford were named All-District.

Alex Henke and Ben Rhoades were both named All-District for Indians Soccer.

For more on this and other stories pick up your copy of The Elsberry Democrat today  from one of our several locations.  You can also sign up for the online edition by visiting and clicking on Subscribe …